Lily and Dunkin

Lily and Dunkin


Product Description
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."  --VOYA

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
 
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.  

*  2017 Southern Book Award Winner—Juvenile Category
*  Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health
*  NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016
*  Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 

*  New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016
*  Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 
*  Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal
* YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults
* YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
*  ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
*  Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee
*  Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
*  Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017

* Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 
* Junior Library Guild Selection 
* Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's
* 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award  
* 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book 
* 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature

"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus 

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred 

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”--PW 
 
"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA
 
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Price: $9.99
  • DELACORTE
 
Tips To Ensure Your Big Day Is Perfect
 
You are planning your big day. Tons of time and effort goes into this process and the end result had better be good. So how do you make that happen and still keep your sanity along the way? The answer is quite easy and that is to read along and we will provide some wedding planning tips that can really help anyone to make it to the big day.
 
Do not forget to learn about how you will handle tax reporting for your business. Reporting taxes for a business is much more complicated than filing taxes for yourself. You might need to hire a tax accountant to sort out what you have to do in the first year that you are filing as a business, just to make sure that it is done correctly.
 
If you are planning an outdoor wedding you will need to consider the possibility of bad weather. If you do not have a backup plan, this could ruin your wedding and inconvenience all of your guests who are attending. Always prepare for the worst on important occasions.
 
When the wedding has ended, you will most likely receive gifts from the people who have attended. Make sure that during this time, you and your spouse are together so that you can both show the appreciation that is deserved. Thank everyone regardless of what type of present they give you.
 
You should try to create a wedding that is extremely personal by having elements which encompass you, your fiance, and the relationship between you two. Think about your time together and find a theme which matches it.
 
An outdoor wedding has its own natural beauty but you should still check on the place where your wedding will be held right before your wedding. Check to make sure that the grass has been mowed, leaves have been raked, and it is clear of debris. If you notice something that you do not like, make sure it is taken care of before your wedding day.
 
For the woman who is about to get married, don't skimp on the dress. This is your day to shine, to look the most beautiful you have ever looked before, and to be decorated with unending compliments. So go buy that expensive dress you have always dreamed of wearing on your wedding day.
 
Skip having guests throw confetti at your wedding as it makes a mess and isn't good for the environment, nor will you like picking it out of your hair. Instead, give your guests a noisemaker with the date of your wedding and your names on it to take home as an inexpensive keepsake.
 
Make sure that you never plan your bachelor or bachelorette parties the day before the wedding. There may be a lot of drinking at these parties, and the last thing that you will want to do is ruin the day of your wedding because you are not fully functional. Have a calm day right before your wedding.
 
It is okay to let loose at your wedding reception. Many people take their wedding day too serious and do not remember it is supposed to be a joyous occasion. When this happens, they look back at their special day with unpleasant memories. Laugh with your guests, and dance to upbeat music.
 
Share your discounts on airline tickets with family and friends who will be attending your destination wedding. If you have Airmiles, see if you can help by purchasing tickets for your family with the reduction in cost thanks to those miles. Ask around with all attendees to see if they can pool their resources and get more discounts!
 
When picking out your wedding ring, make sure to get one you know you are going to like years down the line. Many people pick a random ring, and later decide that they do not like it. Also, if you are going to get matching bands, make sure both of you like them.
 
The time has come to plan your wedding. It is the biggest day of your life, and you're putting every drop of energy into the process. You just might lose your sanity along the way, right? Wrong! If you follow the tips we have provided, you can make it to your big day and keep your sanity intact. Take a deep breath and enjoy the ride!
 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Protected with IP Blacklist CloudIP Blacklist Cloud