Lily and Dunkin

Lily and Dunkin


Product Description
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."  --VOYA

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
 
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.  

*  2017 Southern Book Award Winner—Juvenile Category
*  Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health
*  NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016
*  Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 

*  New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016
*  Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 
*  Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal
* YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults
* YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
*  ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
*  Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee
*  Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
*  Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017

* Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 
* Junior Library Guild Selection 
* Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's
* 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award  
* 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book 
* 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature

"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus 

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred 

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”--PW 
 
"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA
 
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Price: $9.99
  • DELACORTE
Simple Tips To Help You Get The Weight Off
 
It does not matter how much weight you need to lose. The fundamentals remain the same - you need to use up more calories than you consume. Between diet and exercise, regular weight loss can be easily achieved and here are some helpful ideas to get you started in the right direction. That is the scales moving downwards.
 
Don't take too much time in between meals. Instead, eat more frequently, but don't eat more than 3/4 full per meal. Doing this can help you to avoid overeating, and control your portions. Also, eating more frequently can lead to healthier eating habits. For example, chewing thoroughly instead of swallowing it down, will help you to actually enjoy your meals.
 
Steaming foods that you would ordinarily bake or fry is a great way to decrease the fat content in your food. Steaming food will cook it without adding butter or any other unhealthy supplement. Choose fresh foods with lots of flavor,that way steaming or grilling can be a great way to cook your meals without adding fat.
 
A great way to lose weight is to prepare your meals the night before. When you prepare your meals the night before, you won't have to rush to get to work or wherever you're going and you'll always guarantee yourself to have something healthy to eat when you're hungry.
 
A helpful tip to lose weight is to learn how to cook your own meals. If you don't know how to cook, you're more likely to resort to eating fast food and you're not likely to get proper nutrition. Learning to cook basic meals for yourself is very important.
 
It's a well known fact that drinking water can help you shed pounds. Have you also heard that drinking chilled water causes your metabolic rate to increase? When you drink a glass of ice water, your body is forced to raise your body's temperature, which also raises your metabolism.
 
Having a workout partner can help remaining committed on your weight-loss plan easier. A person who shares similar weight loss goals with exercise and diet can be a very strong motivational tool. Together, you will find it easier to stick with the program during times when you might otherwise give up.
 
A good way to help you lose weight is to avoid getting coffee and related drinks at cafes. Most of us aren't aware of it, but these drinks tend to be loaded with sugar and fat. Try brewing your own coffee instead. You'll have control over what goes into it.
 
When trying to achieve weight loss, it is important that you do not focus too much on the number on the scale. Instead, you should attempt to achieve a healthy body. It can sound contradictory, but just focusing on the health to start with can keep your thoughts positive. By over-focusing on weight loss, it is easy to become discouraged with the number on the scale, which will cause you to slide right back to your old habits. It's very common for the average person to fall off diets because they tried to lose weight in ways that are far too restrictive. Making gradual changes will help you lose weight.
 
Try to cook at home as much as possible. Food from a restaurant often contains a lot of fat and salt. Also, restaurant portions are huge, which might tempt you to eat more than you really need. When you cook your own food, you can control exactly what goes into your meal, and you can control your portions.
 
If setting a goal for yourself doesn't seem to be working, why not try joining a program like Weight Watchers? Not only do they have organized plans to keep you on track to losing weight, but you get the support of the other members to give you encouragement to keep going.
 
Slow and steady weight loss is better and more sustainable than fad diets and a rapid decrease in numbers. A long-term change in attitude towards food and exercise is what is required for the pounds to come off and stay off. But remember that it can be done, and you will reach your goals with a little perseverance.
 
 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Protected with IP Blacklist CloudIP Blacklist Cloud