Lily and Dunkin

Lily and Dunkin


Product Description
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."  --VOYA

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
 
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.  

*  2017 Southern Book Award Winner—Juvenile Category
*  Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health
*  NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016
*  Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 

*  New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016
*  Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 
*  Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal
* YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults
* YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
*  ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
*  Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee
*  Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
*  Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017

* Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 
* Junior Library Guild Selection 
* Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's
* 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award  
* 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book 
* 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature

"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus 

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred 

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”--PW 
 
"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA
 
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Price: $4.22
  • DELACORTE
 
The Wedding Bells Are Ringing! Use These Tips For Yours!
Many of us have daydreamed about the day when we will walk down the aisle ever since childhood, right down to the gown we will wear, what our hair will look like, and the colors in our bouquet. Wedding planning can be thrilling but without help, it can be overwhelming.
 
Weddings are one of the more difficult things to plan during the course of your life. Make sure that before your wedding, you are extremely organized so you are in a great position when it comes time to decide on certain questions. This will give you the best opportunity for success.
 
Remember to consider how you would like the alcohol at your reception served, and how much it will cost. If there is one thing people like more than alcohol, it is free alcohol, and an open bar can quickly become a huge expense, especially the longer it remains open. Check with your venue to find out the alcohol options they have for you to choose from.
 
If something goes wrong on your wedding day, don't freak out! My cake fell over on the way to my ceremony, and both the best man and woman were unable to attend. In the end, those people are no longer in my life and my new best woman was a cake decorator who was able to fix the cake. It will always work out!
 
Think of an exotic location for your wedding to make it even more fun and memorable! You could hold your ceremony at a ranch and ride a white horse down the aisle, or have it at a wildlife preserve and have an animal bring the rings down the aisle. I wouldn't recommend choosing a turtle for that job, though!
 
If you are planning a wedding, consider keeping your guest list on the smaller side. You can save money by having not so many guests. You can show your small number of guests' greater details such as large gift baskets, large meals, and limo services. This can be paid for just by reducing your guest list.
 
Consider visiting a local park or museum to have your wedding photos taken. It's amazing to have a gorgeous background in your photographs, but sometimes your actual wedding location might not offer such a view. Contact your city's government office to see if you'll need a photography license for the location you choose.
 
Make sure that after your wedding you send thank-you notes to all of your guests for not only coming to your wedding but for the gifts that they gave to you. This will make them feel special and show that you appreciated them using their time to share your special moment.
 
If you're going to photograph a wedding, change up your style a few times. Look for angles you might not have shot from before to give the wedding album something unique and different to set it apart from the rest. Go up high or down load, shoot wide angles and tight.
 
Look around before committing to a photographer. You do not want to have someone taking wedding pictures that you are not pleased with. Look for online reviews to find great photographers.
 
Try to avoid being sick for your wedding! Up your intake of Vitamin C and eat only healthy items in the weeks leading up to the big day. Stay away from any foods that may cause stomach upset or gas as the last thing you want to do when you're standing at the front of the ceremony is be flatulent!
 
It is okay to let loose at your wedding reception. Many people take their wedding day too serious and do not remember it is supposed to be a joyous occasion. When this happens, they look back at their special day with unpleasant memories. Laugh with your guests, and dance to upbeat music.
 
Ensure that everyone coming to your destination wedding, knows exactly what to do and where to go when they get off the plane. Provide them with detailed instructions on how to get to the hotel and then, how to get from the hotel to your wedding location. They should also have help in heading home.
 
You do not have to be overwhelmed by the thought of planning your wedding once you use the tips you have just read. With the tips from above, you can handle planning your wedding and look forward to your big day.
 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Protected with IP Blacklist CloudIP Blacklist Cloud